November 15, 2019

Episode 18

The 2019 Presidents Cup is just around the corner. Hear what Daniel and Billy believe will happen, a USA domination.

On this episode of GrippingGolf, Billy and Daniel discuss their 2019 Presidents Cup preditions. Yes, we all know USA will dominate, but hey it will sitll be entertaining for you, we promise.

What is the President’s Cup?

The Presidents Cup began in 1994, with a competition held at Robert Trent Jones Golf Club in Prince William County, Virginia, USA. Through the 20-plus-year journey, the world’s best players have come together to compete for team, country and the honor of raising the Presidents Cup trophy.

2017 - New Jersey, USA

For the first time in the event’s history, three former U.S. Presidents and the current U.S. President were on site for the 2017 Presidents Cup, held at Liberty National Golf Club in Jersey City, New Jersey. The International team welcomed Captain Nick Price back for a third term, while the U.S. team was led by Steve Stricker. Following the four-day competition on the banks of the Hudson River, the U.S. team claimed victory with a 19-11 margin.

2015 - Songdo, IBD, Korea

The 2015 Presidents Cup was contested in Songdo, IBD, Incheon City, South Korea, at Jack Nicklaus Golf Club Korea. The U.S. Team was led by Jay Haas and at the helm of the International Team was two-time captain Nick Price. The U.S. Team clinched the final point on the final hole to win 15.5 to 14.5. The Honorary Chairwoman of the event was Korean President Park Guen-Hye.

2013 - Ohio, USA

The 2013 Presidents Cup welcomed the 44th U.S. President Barack Obama as Honorary Chairman of the event for a second time, the only world leader to hold that distinction more than once. The event teed off at Muirfield Village Golf Club in Dublin, Columbus, Ohio, USA. Fred Couples and Nick Price assumed captains’ duties for the U.S. Team and the International Team, respectively. In the end, it was the U.S. Team’s cup to keep after a decisive 18.5-15.5 victory.

2011 - Victoria, Australia

The 2011 Presidents Cup descended upon Royal Melbourne Golf Club in Melbourne, Victoria, Australia, for the second time in the event’s history, pitting Greg Norman’s International Team against Fred Couples’ U.S. Team. Prime Minister of Australia Julia Gillard served as the Honorary Chairwoman, marking the first time in event history a woman held the role. The U.S. Team retained the cup with a 19-15 decision.

2009 - California, USA

The 2009 Presidents Cup showcased an International Team led by Greg Norman and U.S. Team led by Fred Couples for the first time. The cup was contested at TPC Harding Park in San Francisco, California, USA, and welcomed the 44th President of the United States, Barack Obama as the Honorary Chairman. The U.S. Team etched its name on the cup with a 19.5-14.5 score.

2007 - Quebec, Canada

The 2007 Presidents Cup marked the third and final time legendary captains Jack Nicklaus and Gary Player would lead the U.S. and International Teams, respectively. The Prime Minister of Canada Stephen Harper served as the Honorary Chairman for the event held in Montreal, Quebec, Canada, at The Royal Montreal Golf Club. In the end, the United States would retain the cup after a 19.5-14.5 score.

2005 - Virginia, USA

The 2005 Presidents Cup crowned a Jack Nicklaus-led United States Team champions with an 18.5-15.5 decision over a Gary Player-led International Team. Robert Trent Jones Golf Club in Prince William County, Virginia, USA, hosted the event for the fourth time in the competition’s history and the 43rd President of the United States, George W. Bush, acted as the Honorary Chairman.

2003 - George, South Africa

The 2003 Presidents Cup ventured to George, South Africa, for the first time, fittingly, as the nation is home to Gary Player, who led the International Team for the first time that year in a contest against Jack Nicklaus’ United States Team. The host venue, The Links at Fancourt Hotel and Country Club Estate, saw the first tie in Presidents Cup history, and the Republic of South Africa President Thabo Mbeki served as the Honorary Chairman.

2000 - Virginia, USA

The 2000 Presidents Cup was the end of an era for the International Team as they followed the leadership of three-time captain Peter Thomson for the final time. Ken Venturi led the U.S. Team in the event held at Robert Trent Jones Golf Club in Prince William County, Virginia, USA. The 42nd President of the United States, William Jefferson Clinton, acted as the Honorary Chairman for the event, which crowned the U.S. Team victors in decisive fashion, 21.5-10.5.

1998 - Victoria, Australia

The 1998 Presidents Cup was one of victory for the International Team under the direction of Peter Thomson. For the first time in the event’s history, the Internationals defeated the United States Team and Jack Nicklaus, who was serving as captain for the first of four terms, 20.5 to 11.5 in the second-largest margin of victory in the cup’s history. The Royal Melbourne Golf Club in Melbourne, Victoria, Australia, hosted the event for the first time, and Prime Minister of Australia John Howard was appointed the Honorary Chairman.

1996 - Virginia, USA

The 1996 Presidents Cup reigned as the closest score - aside from 2003’s tie - until 2015. With Arnold Palmer at the helm, the United States Team edged Peter Thomson’s International Team 16.5-15.5 at the Robert Trent Jones Golf Club in Prince William County, Virginia, USA. The Honorary Chairman for the event was the 41st United States President, George H.W. Bush.

1994 - Virginia, USA

The 1994 Presidents Cup was the first in the event’s illustrious history. Robert Trent Jones Golf Club in Prince William County, Virginia, USA, welcomed the 38th President of the United States, Gerald R. Ford, as Honorary Chairman, and World Golf Hall of Fame members Hale Irwin (United States Team) and David Graham (International Team) as team captains. The U.S. Team was the first to etch its name onto the cup after winning the inaugural event, 20-12.